S17: QBIO Critical Reading

Instructor: Dr. Terry Hwa; Urey 7246; phone: 4-7263; e-mail: hwa@ucsd.edu
Dr. Phil Tsai; Urey 6242; e-mail: ptsai@qbio.ucsd.edu
Time/Location: Friday 3 – 3:50pm; Urey Hall 6120
Course URL: this pagehttp://matisse.ucsd.edu/courses/s17-qbio-critical-reading
Prerequisite: interest in quantitative biology; consent of instructor

Guide to critical reading

Critical reading worksheet

Course activity:

Date class activity assignment
W1 Fri, Apr 7 Initial reading and questions on ms #1 read ms #1: stress-triggered phase separation. Riback et al, Cell (2017).
W2 Fri, Apr 14 Assessment of ms #1 Report on ms #1 due Tuesday Apr 18
W3 Fri, Apr 21 Discus ms #1 with Prof. Brian Zid read ms #2: Mitotic trigger waves and spatial coordination of Xenopus cell cycle. Chang and Ferrel, Nature (2013).
W4 Fri, Apr 28 Formulate questions on ms #2 possible additional reading
W5 Fri, May 5 Assessment of ms #2 Report on ms #2 due Tuesday May 9
W6 Fri, May 12 Discus ms #2 with Prof. Massimo Vergassola read ms #3: Single-cell transcriptional profiling. Can et al, bioRxiv (2017).
W7 Fri, May 19 Formulate questions on ms #3 possible additional reading
W8 Fri, May 26 Assessment of ms #3  Report on ms #3 due Tuesday May 30
W9 Fri, June 2 Discus ms #2 with Prof. Emma Farley
 W10 Fri, June 9 no class